I read this entry on the Chicken Spaghetti blog from October 26, 2006. I think it is a terrific idea. Your students’ selection could be put on a library website, library blog, or library bulletin. Another plus is the cost….zero!

The Nearest Book
By Susan Thomsen
From
Mental Multivitamin
1. Grab the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the text of the next four sentences on your blog along with these instructions.
5. Don’t you dare dig around for that “cool” or “intellectual” book on your shelves. (I know you were thinking about it.) Just pick up whatever is closest.

Here’s what I found:
Mom shrugs her shoulders at Georgia, who says, “I think I brought her to the right place.”
I walk Georgia to her car, where she turns and holds me by the shoulders. “Baby,” she says, “it’s a tall order for you to have this kid around; she adores you. I wouldn’t do it, but she’s fragile and you’re the only other person to have made good contact with her besides me, though I think your dad may have made a big inroad just now.”
From the young-adult novel Whale Talk, by Chris Crutcher.

